Update #37 ·

BREAKING: Turkish Police Crackdown on Professionals and Protesters throughout Istanbul

UPDATE on this afternoon and evening's events (19:21): Today, at 14:30, the governor of Istanbul and other officials staged an 'opening' of Gezi Park that had been sealed off by police for more than 20 days. By around 17:20, the park had been re-closed, and members of the public were ordered to leave. At 18:20, the police began to use pepper gas and batons on members of the public who refused to leave the park. At present, Taksim Square has been completely closed off to traffic (all entrances from İstiklal Street, Sıraselviler Street, Gümüşsuyu and Elmadağ are cut off -no vehicles or people allowed). People who have businesses in offices surrounding the park were ordered to go home as early as 17:00. Only police left in the park as of now. Police are now attacking the crowds with pepper gas, plastic bullets and water cannons. The water sprayed from the water cannons is reportedly pink-coloured, suggesting the use of added chemicals. Police has formed a checkpoint at the entrance of the Taksim İlkyardım Hospital, the main public hospital in the area. Police has now detained members of Taksim Dayanışması/Taksim Solidarity including famous architect Mücella Yapıcı and Istanbul Medical Chamber General Secretary Ali Çerkezoğlu.

There are also several reports that eight lawyers went to file complaint against the police for the illegal detentions. Also reports that the police may have beaten up the lawyers in the police station.

List of the those taken into custody tonight. None is reported to have engaged in any violent activity. All are members and executives of professional associations and political parties. The total number is claimed to be 35, 30 of which identified as follows:
1. Mücella Yapici- Secretary General, Turkish Architects’ Chamber
2. Cansu Yapici- Architect
3. Sabri Orcan- Vice-President, Turkish Architects’ Chamber
4. Dr. Ali Cerkezoglu- Secretary General, Istanbul Medical Association
5. Suleyman Solaz- Representative of Union of Turkish Architects and Engineers
6. Akif Burka Atlar – Secretary of Urban Planners’ Chamber
7. Sezi Zaman- Urban Planner
8. Ender Imrek- Member of Executive Committee, HDK (Political Party)
9. Hakan Dilmec
10. Erkan Bas- Executive Member of Turkish Communist Party
11. Beyza Metinler- President, Electrical Engineers Chamber
12. Iclal Bozkaya- no clear affiliation
13. Amal Demircan- no clear affiliation
14. Emre Özturk- Executive of Labor Party
15. Ercument Akdeniz- Executive of EMEP (Political Party)
16. Ercin Firat- Speaker, Federation of Clubs of Ideas (NGO)
17. Kamil Tekerek
18. Ongun Yücel,
19. İsmail Sürücüoğlu
20. Halit Güven
21. Haluk Ağabeyoğlu
22. Elçin Fırat
23. Ali Akgün Ekici
24. Murat Sezin
25. İsmail Bozkaya
26. Ayşe Adanalı
27. Sevil Kahraman
28. Ahmet Aktaş
29. Volkan Özer
30. Ebubekir Avcı


to comment