Update #1 ·

Update on May 17, 2012

Take Action: If your Congressional Representative is on the Appropriations Committee, please call them immediately to ask them not to lift the ban on funding to the Guatemalan Army. Below is a list of the members of the Committee. If your Representative is on this list, even if you've already contacted them about this issue, please call or email them to ask them not to lift the ban.

The Committee is debating the Appropriations Bill now, and tomorrow an amendment will be introduced to include restrictions on aid to various countries in the Western Hemisphere, including Guatemala. To send an email or look up your Representative's phone number, go to http://salsa.democracyinaction.org/o/2690/p/dia/action/public/?action_KEY=10260

If your Representative is on the list below, please consider calling instead of emailing!

Suggested script for calls:

Hello. My name is _____ and I am a constituent of Representative ________. I am calling to ask Representative________ to vote to restore human rights restrictions on funding to countries in the Western Hemisphere including Guatemala in the Foreign Operations Bill. Lifting the ban on funding to the Guatemalan Army, which has been in place for decades, would send the wrong message to the Guatemalan Government as they continue to violate the rights of their citizens and militarize the country.

House Appropriations Committee Members

Harold Rogers, Kentucky, (Chairman)
C.W. Bill Young, Florida
Jerry Lewis, California
Frank R. Wolf, Virginia
Jack Kingston, Georgia
Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey
Tom Latham, Iowa
Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama
Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri
Kay Granger, Texas
Michael K. Simpson, Idaho
John Abney Culberson, Texas
Ander Crenshaw, Florida
Denny Rehberg, Montana
John R. Carter, Texas
Rodney Alexander, Louisiana
Ken Calvert, California
Jo Bonner, Alabama
Steven C. LaTourette, Ohio
Tom Cole, Oklahoma
Jeff Flake, Arizona
Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida
Charles W. Dent, Pennsylvania
Steve Austria, Ohio
Cynthia M. Lummis, Wyoming
Tom Graves, Georgia
Kevin Yoder, Kansas
Steve Womack, Arkansas
Alan Nunnelee, Mississippi

Norman D. Dicks, Washington
Marcy Kaptur, Ohio
Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana
Nita M. Lowey, New York
José E. Serrano, New York
Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut
James P. Moran, Virginia
John W. Olver, Massachusetts
Ed Pastor, Arizona
David E. Price, North Carolina
Maurice D. Hinchey, New York
Lucille Roybal-Allard, California
Sam Farr, California
Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., Illinois
Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania
Steven R. Rothman, New Jersey
Sanford D. Bishop, Jr., Georgia
Barbara Lee, California
Adam B. Schiff, California
Michael M. Honda, California
Betty McCollum, Minnesota

to comment