Back to Peace and Prosperity Alliance

Ten Outstanding Young American Award

2010 Ten Outstanding Young Americans Announced
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- If history can be our judge, we may find tomorrow’s most prominent businesspeople and politicians among the 2010 Ten Outstanding Young Americans honored this year.
Many notables have been honored as Outstanding Young Americans in the past including Presidents John Kennedy, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and Bill Clinton, and Vice Presidents Al Gore, Dan Quayle, and Richard Cheney. Also honored were Howard Hughes, Orson Wells, Elvis Presley, Nelson Rockefeller, Ted Kennedy, dogsled champion Susan Butcher, and actors Christopher Reeve, and Shannon Reed.
The 72nd annual black-tie awards ceremony will be held June 5, 2010, in New Orleans, Louisiana. The ten individuals chosen to receive this prestigious award are:
MSgt Bo C Abiodun, California
Dan Caro, Louisiana
Lisa Gibson, Colorado
Aaron Kampman, Wisconsin
Kayla Martell, Delaware
FLt Amanda L Reed, Virginia
Sean Shumate, Kentucky
Daniel Sullivan, Massachusetts
Benjamin Symko, Michigan
Kurt Warner, Arizona
The Ten Outstanding Young Americans program (TOYA) is one of the oldest and most prestigious recognition programs in America. Annually since 1938, The United States Jaycees has sought out the ten young men and women who best exemplify the finest attributes of America’s youthful achievers.
The TOYA selection process begins in the spring of each year. Following the submission deadline, all nominations are forwarded to a panel of screening judges who, working independently, select and rank their top twenty choices. The top twenty point getters become the finalists. The finalists’ nominations are forwarded to a panel of finalist judges who rank their top ten choices. The task of judging the nominations is arduous.
Each nominee’s accomplishments and contributions are also judged in relation to the Jaycee Creed: “ That earth’s great treasure lies in human personality, and that service to humanity is the best work of life” and they must meet certain qualifications: age (18-40, inclusive), American citizenship (or application therefore), and agree to attend the TOYA Awards Ceremony.

to comment