Back to Save The Metolius!

Metolius Update โ€“ HB 3100 Passes House Land Use Committee 5-2!

April 23, 2009

Dear Friend,

On Tuesday, April 21st, House Bill 3100 - the Metolius Protection Act of 2009 - cleared a huge hurdle as the House Land Use Committee passed the bill by a margin of 5-2. HB 3100 now heads to the House Rules Committee, Chaired by Representative Arnie Roblan. A hearing date has not yet been set.

Thanks to everyone who made phone calls, wrote e-mails and letters, and attended public hearings. Your support has made this progress possible. Now it's time to shift our focus to the members of the House Rules committee, whose contact information is listed below. If you have not yet written these Representatives, please do so now, and ask of supportive friends and family members that they do the same. Please share with them the thoughts and perspectives you've shared with many other representatives already.

As always, it's critical that these Legislators hear from supporters all around this great state, and from within their own districts as well. If you don't live in one of their districts, but know someone who does and who shares your support for this issue, please encourage them to make contact themselves. And please continue to send us copies of your letters at [email protected] so we can post them on our online letterbank.

In our last alert, we asked you also to help get the word out by submitting letters to the editor to your local paper. If you've yet to do that, we'd encourage you to do so now as a few well placed letters can make a huge difference.

Thanks again for your support on this important issue, and to help ensure that the Metolius River is protected for future generations. When the next HB 3100 hearing is set, we'll be back in touch to let you know.

-Erik Kancler
Executive Director, Central Oregon LandWatch
[email protected]

House Rules Committee Members:
(House District maps can be found here.)

Representative Arnie Roblan (Coos Bay D-9)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1409
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, H-272, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Representative Vicki Berger (Salem R-20)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1420
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE., H-479, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Representative Chris Edwards (West Eugene, Santa Clara, Junction City, Cheshire & Alvadore D-14)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1414
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, H-283, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Representative Bill Garrard (Klamath Falls R-56)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1456
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE., H-480, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Representative Sara Gelser (Corvallis D-16)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1416
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE H-285, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Representative Bob Jenson (Pendleton R-58)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1458
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE., H-481, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Representative Mary Nolan, Chair (Portland D-36)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1436
Capitol Address: 900 Court St NE, H-295, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Representative Tobias Read (Beaverton D-27)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1427
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, H-490, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Please also contact:
Representative Dave Hunt, Speaker of the House (Clackamas County D-40)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1200
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, 269, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Senate President, Peter Courtney (Salem D-11)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1600
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE., S-201, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Senate Majority Leader, Richard Devlin (Tualatin D-19)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1700
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE., S-223, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Senator Jackie Dingfelder (Portland D-23)
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1723
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE., S-407, Salem, OR, 97301
[email protected]

Senator Jason Atkinson (Central...

to comment