Started by Yoko Ono and Sean Lennon, Artists Against Fracking is a group of artists, musicians, and filmmakers dedicated to bringing attention to the damages and environmental consequences of hydraulic fracturing.

“Right now, some people are trying to make easy money, and meanwhile ruin this country’s future, by a thing called ‘fracking." – Yoko Ono

Yoko Ono and her son Sean Lennon were compelled into action by Governor Andrew Cuomo’s announcement that fracking might soon begin in New York – directly impacting their home in upstate New York. In less than 10 days, they gathered nearly 150 fellow artists to join them in the founding of Artists Against Fracking in August 2012.

Today, at nearly 200 members Artists Against Fracking works to expose and stop the harmful and contaminating practice of fracking for natural gas and oil through mass awareness and peaceful democratic action. At its core, we believe that fracking for shale gas is a danger to New Yorkers. Inevitably, the process leads to the release of toxic chemicals — many of which are unknown and unreported — into our air and water.

“Though my father died when I was 5, I have always felt lucky to live on land he loved dearly; land in an area that is now on the verge of being destroyed.”

Members of Artists Against Fracking include:
Abena Koomson
Adam Greene
Alec Baldwin
Amanda Palmer
Amy Ryan
Amy Sohn
Animal Liberation Orchestra
Anne Hathaway
Anthony Edwards
Beast Patrol
Beastie Boys
Ben Perowsky
Ben Tyree
Bethany Yarrow
Bill Frisell
Bill Migliore
Black Keys
Bon Iver
Bonnie Raitt
Brad Mehldau
Brazilian Girls
Carrie Fisher
Charlotte Kemp Muhl
Chris Maxwell
Cibo Matto
Cindy Sherman
Conor Oburst
Corn Mo
Dan Fogler
Darren Aronofsky
Daryl Hanna
David Byrne
David Crosby
David Fiuczynski
David Geffen
David Lang
David Sitek
Deborah Eisenberg
Deepak Chopra
Devendra Banhart
Donald Fagen
Dub Trio
Dustin Yellin
Elephant Revival
Eric “Roscoe” Ambel
FonLin Nyeu
Fred Armisen
G Tom Mac
Gene Ween
George Saunders
Glen Hansard
Gotham Chopra
Graham Nash
Greg Bissonette
Greg Rolie
Greta Seacat
Gwyneth Paltrow
Harper Simon
Hugh Jackman
Indigo Girls
Ingrid Sischy
Irina Lazareanu
Jackson Browne
Jake Hoffman
Jamie Saft
Janet Feder
Jeff Koons
Jenny Scheinman
Jesse Harris
Jimmy Fallon
Joe Walsh
Joel Hamilton
Joel Rafael
John Cameron
John Zorn
Johnny Irion
Jonathan Marc Sherman
Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Josh Fox
Judy Kuhn
Julian Lage
Julian Lennon
Julianne Moore
Justin Bond
Karen Elson
Katelan Foisy
Kathleen Hanna
Keith Secola
Kim Gordon Kronos Quartet
Kyoko Ono Cox
Lady Gaga
Lee Ranaldo
Lenny Kaye
Liv Tyler
Lowell Boyers
Malcolm Ford
Marina Abramovic
Mario Batali
Mark Rivera
Mark Ronson
Mark Ruffalo
Martha Colburn
Martha Stewart
Martha Wainwright
Medeski, Martin and Wood
Meredith Monk
Michael Pollan
Mike Watt
Monica Heidimann
My Morning Jacket
Nadia Dajani
Nancy Shevell + Paul
Natalie Merchant
Nels Cline
Nico Muhly
Nicole Bonelli
Noah Emmerich
Patti Smith Group
Peter Coyote
Polyphonic Spree
Ralph Gibson
Richard Gere
Richard Page
Ringo Starr
Roberta Flack
Roberto De Niro
Ron Delsner
Rosario Dawson
Rufus Cappadocia
Rufus Wainwright
Ryan Sawyer Salman Rushdie
Sandra Brant
Sara Lee Guthrie
Scissor Sisters
Scott Amendola
Scott Harding
Sea Wolf
Sean Ono Lennon
Sim Redmond Band
St. Vincent
Stephanie & Warren Haynes
Steve Cardenas
Steve Lukather
Steve Shelley
Stuwart Hurwood
Susan Sarandon
Sxip Shirey
Talia Lugacy
The B-52′s
The Flaming Lips
The Present
The Strokes
Thomas Bartlett
Three As Four
Thurston Moore
Tim Robbins
Todd Reynolds
Todd Rundgren
Tom Noonan
Tommy Hawk Wilson III
Tony Shanahan
Trevor Wilson
Uma Thurman
Vernon Reid
Vincent Gallo
Wallace Shawn
White Out
Will Bernard
Yo La Tengo
Yoko Ono
Zooey Deschanel


to comment