Like Causes?

Install the App
TRY NOW

senate Bill S. 1808

Is There a Need for a Review of Security on the Border With Canada?

Argument in favor

Identifying weaknesses in security along the northern border will help prevent criminals and terrorists from exploiting those vulnerabilities. If the government doesn’t know exactly what’s wrong, how can it be fixed?

Aidan-WC's Opinion
···
06/05/2016
Listen, The nation of Canada is a very safe and secure environment. However, when it comes to a matter of national security it's very unpredictable how threatening terrorist and immigrants can utilize their strategic skills to manipulate our current "BROKEN" immigration system. And yes our current system is absolutely BROKEN! Border patrol and members of congress must ensure that all borders leading to our nation is protected regardless of its area. If we are paranoid about securing the southern border it dose not justify we shouldn't implement legislation to secure our northern border as well. Jihadist Are always trying to identify ways to meticulously import themselves in our nation by exploiting borders that are insecure. Protecting National security can be a very unpredictable matter, in order to alleviate our immigration issue we must secure all surrounding borders necessary to protect the AMERICAN PEOPLE. The federal governments main priority is to keep the American public SAFE. If the federal government is truly achieving their first priority by keeping the American public safe by 1. Comprehensively securing ALL OF OUR BORDERS THEN WE AS CITIZENS CAN SAY THEY ARE ILLUSTRATING IMPROVEMENT IN ACCOMPLISHING THEIR DUTIES AS OUR LEADERS AS WELL.
Like (6)
Follow
Share
John's Opinion
···
09/02/2015
ALL of our borders need to be secured - southern, northern and both coasts. I question the thorough nature of this bill however... 1 million of projected costs suggests a minimal amount of resources will be assigned and therefore only a high level assessment will be conducted. Our border security deserves more.
Like (3)
Follow
Share
GrumpyMSgt's Opinion
···
09/02/2015
Yes! Members of the "religion of peace" are trying to come here and they are not stupid. We need tighter control on all borders.
Like (3)
Follow
Share

Argument opposed

While it may make sense to assess the status of border security along the northern border, there is nothing in this legislation that would require the Dept. of Homeland Security to take action and fix those problem.

Alis's Opinion
···
09/02/2015
That this is even a question worth asking is an indication that politicians & news media have been using fear to get our attention for so long, we have become irrationally hyper-vigilant. We have borders. There is no way to make them impermeable. There is danger but we have already spent a gazillion dollars dealing with it and are relatively safe. There will always be some danger no matter what we do or how much we spend or how fearful we become. GET OVER IT!!! This is a description of life as it is, as it has always been & as it will always be. It is insane to behave as though we can protect ourselves from every eventuality that we don't like. NOTE TO LEGISLATORS: American children still die of preventable diseases. Women & children die as a result of domestic abusers. Our education system is falling into ruin. Our infrastructure is pitiful. If you focussed on issues that mattered & that you could do something about, we would all be better off! DANGER EXISTS! NO MATTER HOW MUCH TESTOSTERONE YOU FLING AT IT, IT WILL ALWAYS BE THERE!
Like (16)
Follow
Share
SherryTX's Opinion
···
09/02/2015
Why can't they do this within the current budget? It should be part of the overall national security plan. We can't continue to throw money at every problem without a plan. Show me the PROOF any agency NEEDS more money. The problem is that all agencies are required to "use it or lose it" when it comes to their budgets. This system needs to be revised before any increase in budgets occur. I am 100% for spending whatever is needed for national security as that is something that is in our constitution that the Feds are responsible for; but do it responsibly.
Like (4)
Follow
Share
wpeckham's Opinion
···
09/04/2015
The Canadian is our longest but arguably safest border. this is wasted effort and I do not approve.
Like (3)
Follow
Share

What is Senate Bill S. 1808?

This bill would require the Dept. of Homeland Security (DHS) to compile a Northern Border Threat Analysis and submit it to relevant congressional committees. The threat analysis would seek to assess needed security improvements and the threat of terrorist or criminal activity.

Specifically, current and potential threats for terrorism to be carried out by individuals and groups who would enter the U.S. through the northern border or exploit vulnerabilities would be examined. The threat analysis would also look at needed improvements at ports of entry along the northern border to prevent such activities — including the maritime borders of the Great Lakes.


The threat analysis would identify any vulnerabilities in the law or policies that hinder cooperation between state and local law enforcement to secure the border and counteract the threat of terrorism. It would examine the following challenges affecting border security:

  • Technology needs;

  • Personnel needs;

  • The role of state, tribal, and local law enforcement in general border security activities;

  • The need for cooperation between federal, state, tribal, local, and Canadian law enforcement on issues of border security;

  • The geographic challenges of the northern border.


To the greatest extent possible, DHS would make this threat analysis unclassified, although it would be allowed to submit a portion of it in a classified manner if it’s appropriate.

Impact

Law enforcement entities at the federal, state, local, and tribal level; Canadian law enforcement, the Dept. of Homeland Security, and relevant congressional committees.

Cost of Senate Bill S. 1808

$1.00 Million
The CBO estimates that implementing this legislation would cost about $1 million in 2016.

More Information

In-Depth: The lead sponsor of this legislation, Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), believes that concerns about security along the southern border shouldn’t detract from efforts to monitor the northern border. She cited “difficulties with recruiting officials to work remote areas of the border” and increasing crime as challenges that need to be addressed.

Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) believes that a “full understanding of the northern border’s needs, strengths, and vulnerabilities” is needed to to develop a successful strategy for border security.

This bill was passed unanimously by the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, and has bipartisan support from three Republican cosponsors.


Of Note
: According to Sen. Heitkamp’s
press release, there are 120 border crossings between the 5,500 mile long border between the U.S. and Canada, 1,500 miles of which are on the Alaskan border.


Media:

Summary by Eric Revell
(Photo Credit: Flickr user mtsrs)

AKA

Northern Border Security Review Act

Official Title

A bill to require the Secretary of Homeland Security to conduct a Northern Border threat analysis, and for other purposes.

bill Progress


  • EnactedDecember 14th, 2016
    The President signed this bill into law
  • The house Passed November 30th, 2016
    Passed by Voice Vote
  • The senate Passed November 16th, 2016
    Passed by Voice Vote
      senate Committees
      Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs
    IntroducedJuly 21st, 2015

Log in or create an account to see how your Reps voted!
    Listen, The nation of Canada is a very safe and secure environment. However, when it comes to a matter of national security it's very unpredictable how threatening terrorist and immigrants can utilize their strategic skills to manipulate our current "BROKEN" immigration system. And yes our current system is absolutely BROKEN! Border patrol and members of congress must ensure that all borders leading to our nation is protected regardless of its area. If we are paranoid about securing the southern border it dose not justify we shouldn't implement legislation to secure our northern border as well. Jihadist Are always trying to identify ways to meticulously import themselves in our nation by exploiting borders that are insecure. Protecting National security can be a very unpredictable matter, in order to alleviate our immigration issue we must secure all surrounding borders necessary to protect the AMERICAN PEOPLE. The federal governments main priority is to keep the American public SAFE. If the federal government is truly achieving their first priority by keeping the American public safe by 1. Comprehensively securing ALL OF OUR BORDERS THEN WE AS CITIZENS CAN SAY THEY ARE ILLUSTRATING IMPROVEMENT IN ACCOMPLISHING THEIR DUTIES AS OUR LEADERS AS WELL.
    Like (6)
    Follow
    Share
    That this is even a question worth asking is an indication that politicians & news media have been using fear to get our attention for so long, we have become irrationally hyper-vigilant. We have borders. There is no way to make them impermeable. There is danger but we have already spent a gazillion dollars dealing with it and are relatively safe. There will always be some danger no matter what we do or how much we spend or how fearful we become. GET OVER IT!!! This is a description of life as it is, as it has always been & as it will always be. It is insane to behave as though we can protect ourselves from every eventuality that we don't like. NOTE TO LEGISLATORS: American children still die of preventable diseases. Women & children die as a result of domestic abusers. Our education system is falling into ruin. Our infrastructure is pitiful. If you focussed on issues that mattered & that you could do something about, we would all be better off! DANGER EXISTS! NO MATTER HOW MUCH TESTOSTERONE YOU FLING AT IT, IT WILL ALWAYS BE THERE!
    Like (16)
    Follow
    Share
    Why can't they do this within the current budget? It should be part of the overall national security plan. We can't continue to throw money at every problem without a plan. Show me the PROOF any agency NEEDS more money. The problem is that all agencies are required to "use it or lose it" when it comes to their budgets. This system needs to be revised before any increase in budgets occur. I am 100% for spending whatever is needed for national security as that is something that is in our constitution that the Feds are responsible for; but do it responsibly.
    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
    The Canadian is our longest but arguably safest border. this is wasted effort and I do not approve.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    ALL of our borders need to be secured - southern, northern and both coasts. I question the thorough nature of this bill however... 1 million of projected costs suggests a minimal amount of resources will be assigned and therefore only a high level assessment will be conducted. Our border security deserves more.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    Yes! Members of the "religion of peace" are trying to come here and they are not stupid. We need tighter control on all borders.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    Not TSA, couldn't stop a terrorist if they themselves were one!
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Of coarse! While the U.S. Biggest threat happens from the southern border with Mexico, Canada has a more liberal immigration policy. This allows immigrants to receive a Canadian passport and thus can walk across the northern border. There are many places on the northern that would allow immigrants or terrorist to cross
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Canada is safer than the US they only had one mass shooting in the last 2 years and non really before that. The Canadians are the ones worried (I'm a duel citizen) they don't want assault weapons flowing into their country and end up like the US with the almost monthly shootings.
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Canadian security is better than Mexican security. In addition the bill does not require DHS to do any thing with the information.
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    We don't need to strain our relationship even more with any country. If both countries bilaterally agree on increasing the border than I will be for it but if just the U.S. acts alone and jeopardizes our relationship with a big trading partner it is just stupid
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    It's Canada. We'll live.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Waste of time
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    The cooperation between the USA and Canada is safe and secure.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Strengthens national security at a minimal cost.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    The idea is sound but after the situation is evaluated, this bill doesn't have any plan for what to do about even the urgent "can't wait for our do nothing Congress" items!
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Let's check out Southern border, the PROBLEM, before we check our Northern border.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    If there is a breach in security, we should address it. Simple as that.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Well, YEAH! Unless all of the terrorists have PROMISED that they'll only come into America across our SOUTHERN border! Yes, I'm being a bit sarcastic. The war criminal who was found working at Dulles airport had been expelled from Canada. I guess that says more about how poorly our "refugees" and other immigrants are "vetted," but still, how many other criminals and terrorists have entered this country from our northern neighbor???
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    All of our borders need to be protected. Open borders, no matter what the neighboring country is, lead to danger.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    MORE