Like Causes?

Install the App
TRY NOW

house Bill H.R. 4402

Reporting on People Traveling to Iraq or Syria to Join Terror Groups

Argument in favor

DHS needs to provide Congress with a full accounting of successful or attempted travel by foreign fighters from the U.S. to conflict zones in Iraq or Syria. Doing so improves the ability of both lawmakers and DHS to monitor and prevent future travel.

BTSundra's Opinion
···
02/23/2016
We need this information to make sure we aren't letting terrorists back in.
Like (14)
Follow
Share
Loraki's Opinion
···
09/12/2016
Congress is fully aware that national security is one of the most pressing issues they are expected to deal with. DHS and other agencies SHOULD make the information required by this report available to Congress on a routine basis, but we know that TRANSPARENCY and efficiency are NOT hallmarks of the Obama Administration. Hence, the need to pass this bill. The report would be required to include the following: Include relevant unclassified and classified information held by the U.S. government related to each instance; Ascertain which factors — including operational issues, security vulnerabilities, systemic challenges, or other issues — have undermined efforts to prevent travel to those conflict zones, including the identification and interdiction of suspects and information sharing; Identify lessons learned and areas for improvement to prevent additional travel by such persons to a conflict zone in Iraq or Syria, or other terrorist safe havens abroad. DHS would be required to begin this report within 30 days of this bill’s enactment, and it would have to provide this report to Congress within an additional 90 days. I'm thinking, however, that there MIGHT be merit in not trying to prevent suspects from leaving the country. It might be more prudent to get rid of them and see to it that they NEVER set foot on American soil again and lose their American citizenship to boot!
Like (6)
Follow
Share
···
04/29/2016
I support this measure. We need to know the identities of those traveling abroad to commit crimes against humanity and terrorism, and then jail them as soon as they return.
Like (4)
Follow
Share

Argument opposed

Compiling a report with every instance of a foreign fighter attempting to travel from the U.S. to Iraq or Syria (successfully or not) won’t help to prevent or deter future attempts. Congress should be bringing forward tangible policy changes instead.

Steven's Opinion
···
02/29/2016
I'm all for DHS tracking traitors to our country. What does reporting it to congress accomplish? What is congress going to do spank them? Ground them, send them to bed with no supper? Here's a radical concept, congress do your job and let law enforcers do theirs.
Like (10)
Follow
Share
Raj's Opinion
···
02/23/2016
Intelligence agencies should already have a list of this sort of thing, and if Congress wants specific information they can ask for it.
Like (4)
Follow
Share
Burnetta's Opinion
···
02/22/2016
Why just Iraq and Syria? If you're going to discriminate, why not include all the Middle East countries, European, Saudis, Asians. Let's see - Who else have we pissed off? Oh yes, Russia. That's the problem when you keep poking your nose where it doesn't belong. You wind up with no friends - just enemies- and countries that just use you and laugh behind your back at your stupidity. Just my opinion
Like (2)
Follow
Share

What is House Bill H.R. 4402?

This bill would direct the President, through the Dept. of Homeland Security (DHS) to review known instances (since 2011) where a person has traveled or attempted to travel from the U.S. to a conflict zone in Iraq or Syria to join or provide support to terrorists.

The report would be required to include the following:

  • Include relevant unclassified and classified information held by the U.S. government related to each instance;

  • Ascertain which factors — including operational issues, security vulnerabilities, systemic challenges, or other issues — have undermined efforts to prevent travel to those conflict zones, including the identification and interdiction of suspects and information sharing;

  • Identify lessons learned and areas for improvement to prevent additional travel by such persons to a conflict zone in Iraq or Syria, or other terrorist safe havens abroad.

DHS would be required to begin this report within 30 days of this bill’s enactment, and it would have to provide this report to Congress within an additional 90 days.

Impact

DHS, Congress, and the President.

Cost of House Bill H.R. 4402

$500.00 Thousand
The CBO estimates that this bill would cost less than $500,000 in 2016.

More Information

In-DepthThis legislation was passed by the House Homeland Security Committee on a voice vote, and it currently has the support of eight cosponsors in the House — including three Democrats and eight Republicans.

Of Note: In November 2015, the Daily Mail reported that at least 65 people in the U.S. had been charged with conspiring to join the so-called Islamic State (aka ISIS or ISIL) in the preceding 18 months. Since then, there have been multiple arrests made on people attempting to travel from the U.S. to Iraq or Syria with the intention of joining ISIS.


Media:

Summary by Eric Revell
(Photo Credit: A date for Alexander Kouts)

AKA

Foreign Fighter Review Act of 2016

Official Title

To require a review of information regarding persons who have traveled or attempted to travel from the United States to support terrorist organizations in Syria and Iraq, and for other purposes.

bill Progress


  • Not enacted
    The President has not signed this bill
  • The senate has not voted
      senate Committees
      Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs
  • The house Passed February 24th, 2016
    Roll Call Vote 397 Yea / 0 Nay
      house Committees
      Committee on Homeland Security
    IntroducedFebruary 1st, 2016

Log in or create an account to see how your Reps voted!
    We need this information to make sure we aren't letting terrorists back in.
    Like (14)
    Follow
    Share
    I'm all for DHS tracking traitors to our country. What does reporting it to congress accomplish? What is congress going to do spank them? Ground them, send them to bed with no supper? Here's a radical concept, congress do your job and let law enforcers do theirs.
    Like (10)
    Follow
    Share
    Congress is fully aware that national security is one of the most pressing issues they are expected to deal with. DHS and other agencies SHOULD make the information required by this report available to Congress on a routine basis, but we know that TRANSPARENCY and efficiency are NOT hallmarks of the Obama Administration. Hence, the need to pass this bill. The report would be required to include the following: Include relevant unclassified and classified information held by the U.S. government related to each instance; Ascertain which factors — including operational issues, security vulnerabilities, systemic challenges, or other issues — have undermined efforts to prevent travel to those conflict zones, including the identification and interdiction of suspects and information sharing; Identify lessons learned and areas for improvement to prevent additional travel by such persons to a conflict zone in Iraq or Syria, or other terrorist safe havens abroad. DHS would be required to begin this report within 30 days of this bill’s enactment, and it would have to provide this report to Congress within an additional 90 days. I'm thinking, however, that there MIGHT be merit in not trying to prevent suspects from leaving the country. It might be more prudent to get rid of them and see to it that they NEVER set foot on American soil again and lose their American citizenship to boot!
    Like (6)
    Follow
    Share
    Intelligence agencies should already have a list of this sort of thing, and if Congress wants specific information they can ask for it.
    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
    I support this measure. We need to know the identities of those traveling abroad to commit crimes against humanity and terrorism, and then jail them as soon as they return.
    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
    You leave the country to fight with Isis, you forfeit your American citizenship. That is aiding and abetting the enemy, per our constitution. George Washington would have you executed by firing squad.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    Please pass
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    If these people have nothing to hide, they shouldn't be bothered by it. We cannot risk the chance of allowing anyone that is affiliated with a terrorist group in this country.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    I agree that we must find those leaving the country to fight against the USA troops and remove their ability to return. This would require the additional man power require the removal of all visa, and passport
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Why just Iraq and Syria? If you're going to discriminate, why not include all the Middle East countries, European, Saudis, Asians. Let's see - Who else have we pissed off? Oh yes, Russia. That's the problem when you keep poking your nose where it doesn't belong. You wind up with no friends - just enemies- and countries that just use you and laugh behind your back at your stupidity. Just my opinion
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Knowledge is power. Willful ignorance is not the answer.
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    If you don't you are not doing your job.We are still at war die does this make any sense.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Big government lists are dangerous. Let's not go this route
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Duh
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    In a New York min
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Americans are free this means as bad as I hate to say it the freedoms to make bad choices. But the 1st amendment should cover this
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Anyone traveling to an area to join a terrorist group should not be allowed to return to the U.S.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    We should take all precaution to protect America.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Good intentions. But get Congress involved and all it will be is a massive waste of time and money.
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    Total waste of $$$!
    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
    MORE