Like Causes?

Install the App
TRY NOW

house Bill H.R. 2229

Should a Program Letting Whistleblowers Appeal Decisions to Circuit Courts be Permanent?

Argument in favor

Federal employees should have the same appeal rights in whistleblower cases no matter what part of the country they live in, so it makes sense to allow them to appeal to their circuit court of jurisdiction.

Dave.Land's Opinion
···
10/10/2017
Whistle-blowers put country above party and personality, risking their reputation—and sometimes, their careers—to point out fraud and waste in our government. These patriots need and deserve the full protection of our legal system as they go above and beyond their duties.
Like (35)
Follow
Share
Tristan's Opinion
···
10/10/2017
Whistleblowers should be protected and empowered in the US.
Like (21)
Follow
Share
Jon's Opinion
···
10/10/2017
Whistleblowers take great risk to expose miscarriages of Justice. The pilot program allows them the opportunity to appeal cases that were decided in an unfavorable manner correlating to their risk involved. This program should continue as it does balance the system.
Like (18)
Follow
Share

Argument opposed

Federal employees involved in whistleblower cases should have to abide by the ruling of the Merit Systems Protection Board and not be able to appeal that decision to a U.S. circuit court.

Cory's Opinion
···
10/10/2017
This bill is vague and incredibly difficult to understand as written. Rework it so it makes sense. I’m all about more whistleblower protection, but something in the way this bill is written feels fishy.
Like (9)
Follow
Share
jesus.gomez's Opinion
···
10/10/2017
The bill is too vague and could potentially insure issues with loopholes. Rephrasing and restructuring the wording in the bill could be benefiting, but until then I would vote nay.
Like (4)
Follow
Share
TRUMPGOLD2020's Opinion
···
10/09/2017
I WOULDNT GIVE JUDGES THE ONLY FINAL SOURCE OF AUTHORITY. POINT: I STAND W PRESIDENT TRUMP ON PROTECTING WHISTLEBLOWERS...NOT JAILING THEM! NOT FINING THEM! CUMMINGS IS A FKG SNAKE. UNTRUSTWORTHY. WHY ELSE WOULD THE BILL BE SO VAGUE? HE IS A CORRUPT ASS! AND NEEDS TO STEP DOWN ! VOTE HIS ASS THE FK OUT! LISTENING TO HIM IN CONGRESSIONAL HEARINGS MAKES ME WANT TO PUKE! HE HAS NO MORALS! OR COMMON SENSE! HE STANDS FOR HIS OWN ASS & ANTI TRUMP ANYTHING! HE DOESNT STAND FOR THE USA THE CONSTITUTION OR WE THE PEOPLE!
Like (2)
Follow
Share

What is House Bill H.R. 2229?

This bill would allow federal employees to appeal cases related to whistleblowers decided by the Merit Systems Protection Board to any U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals with jurisdiction by making an expiring pilot program permanent. The Merit Systems Protection Board is responsible for investigating allegations of prohibited personnel practices — like the firing of a whistleblower — through its Office of Special Counsel.

Impact

Federal employees involved in whistleblower cases decided by the MSPB; and circuit courts.

Cost of House Bill H.R. 2229

The CBO estimates that enacting this bill would have an insignificant impact on the federal budget.

More Information

In-DepthSponsoring Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD) introduced this bill to ensure that federal whistleblowers have the same appeal rights as those who live in areas where the circuit court participates in the pilot program regardless where they live:

“I introduced the All Circuit Review Act to ensure that whistleblowers who live outside Washington have the same rights as those who live here, and the Committee’s actions today show that when we work together in a bipartisan manner, Congress can accomplish the kind of work our constituents sent us here to do.”

This legislation passed the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee on a voice vote, and has the support of one cosponsor — Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX).


Media:

Summary by Eric Revell

(Photo Credit: EHStock / iStock)

AKA

All Circuit Review Act

Official Title

To amend title 5, United States Code, to provide permanent authority for judicial review of certain Merit Systems Protection Board decisions relating to whistleblowers, and for other purposes.

bill Progress


  • EnactedJuly 7th, 2018
    The President signed this bill into law
  • The senate Passed June 12th, 2018
    Passed by Voice Vote
      senate Committees
      Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs
  • The house Passed October 11th, 2017
    Passed by Voice Vote
      house Committees
      Committee on Oversight and Reform
      Committee on the Judiciary
      Courts, Intellectual Property, and the Internet
    IntroducedApril 28th, 2017

Log in or create an account to see how your Reps voted!
    Whistle-blowers put country above party and personality, risking their reputation—and sometimes, their careers—to point out fraud and waste in our government. These patriots need and deserve the full protection of our legal system as they go above and beyond their duties.
    Like (35)
    Follow
    Share
    This bill is vague and incredibly difficult to understand as written. Rework it so it makes sense. I’m all about more whistleblower protection, but something in the way this bill is written feels fishy.
    Like (9)
    Follow
    Share
    Whistleblowers should be protected and empowered in the US.
    Like (21)
    Follow
    Share
    Whistleblowers take great risk to expose miscarriages of Justice. The pilot program allows them the opportunity to appeal cases that were decided in an unfavorable manner correlating to their risk involved. This program should continue as it does balance the system.
    Like (18)
    Follow
    Share
    America was built on the idea that the worst threat to democracy and human life was a tyrannical government. How are we safe from our own government if get prosecuted for exposing their wrong doings
    Like (17)
    Follow
    Share
    Our country needs to protect whistleblowers. We treat them terribly in general by labeling them criminals for the important issues they shine a light on.
    Like (10)
    Follow
    Share
    We need whistleblowers to help keep government accountable and in check. Whistleblowers have already proven that entities over reach and can abuse power without transparency.
    Like (6)
    Follow
    Share
    The bill is too vague and could potentially insure issues with loopholes. Rephrasing and restructuring the wording in the bill could be benefiting, but until then I would vote nay.
    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
    Judicial review of whistleblower cases is relevant and important.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    Whistleblowers deserve to have their termination reviewed.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    Whistleblowing is a fundamental need in any democratic society. We just trust our public servants to inform us of problems, and allowing them to appeal to applicable circuit courts is one way to ensure their voices are heard.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    The proper process of the court system is essential to a functioning democracy. It is important for whistle blowers to be able to appeal decisions as others can.
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Yes
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    I don't believe that a convincing enough case has been made for this legislation. Is it a loophole? Has it harmed anyone? It sounds good, but the why isn't clear.
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Whistleblowers if what they do is thought through ethically and does not bring harm to anyone with specifics should be protected.
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    I believe whistle blowers should have the same rights out of state as they do in Washington
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Whistleblowing is a great aid of keeping accountability and the integrity of our federal government so it makes more sense to allow this and would be more consistent across the country.
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    I WOULDNT GIVE JUDGES THE ONLY FINAL SOURCE OF AUTHORITY. POINT: I STAND W PRESIDENT TRUMP ON PROTECTING WHISTLEBLOWERS...NOT JAILING THEM! NOT FINING THEM! CUMMINGS IS A FKG SNAKE. UNTRUSTWORTHY. WHY ELSE WOULD THE BILL BE SO VAGUE? HE IS A CORRUPT ASS! AND NEEDS TO STEP DOWN ! VOTE HIS ASS THE FK OUT! LISTENING TO HIM IN CONGRESSIONAL HEARINGS MAKES ME WANT TO PUKE! HE HAS NO MORALS! OR COMMON SENSE! HE STANDS FOR HIS OWN ASS & ANTI TRUMP ANYTHING! HE DOESNT STAND FOR THE USA THE CONSTITUTION OR WE THE PEOPLE!
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Silicon Valley BART & California High Speed Rail
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    Whistleblowers need protections too
    Like (2)
    Follow
    Share
    MORE