Pledge to

Support Local Initiatives to Ban GMOs

This pledge closed about 6 years ago

How this will help

Several dozen nations, thousands of local governments in the EU, and eight counties in the U.S. (in California, Hawaii, Oregon and Washington) have created GMO-free zones by passing bans on genetically engineered crops.

EU regulations permit member nations to establish GMO-free zones. As of 2012, there are 169 regions and 4,713 municipalities that have declared themselves GMO-free zones in the EU. In addition to these GMO-free zones in the EU, at least 26 nations, including Switzerland, Australia, Austria, China, India, France, Germany, Hungary, Luxembourg, Greece, Bulgaria, Poland, Italy, Mexico, and Russia have banned GMOs entirely. 

There are twice as many countries that label GMOs as there are that grow them!

In 2014, voters in Oregon, Hawaii and California counties will attempt to pass local GMO bans. They need your help. 

Get involved:

May 2014 - VICTORY!

Jackson County, OR
Josephine County, OR

November 2014

Josephine County, OR (pesticide ban)
Benton County, OR
Lane County, OR
Humboldt County, CA
Maui County, HI

Learn more:

GMOs: Ban Them or Label Them?


to comment